Iloilo honors taxpayers, brgy. movers

ILOILO – The provincial government of Iloilo recognized its top taxpayers and outstanding municipalities and barangays in tax collection during the celebration of its 114th foundation here on Tuesday.

According to Provincial Treasurer Melba Sullivan, the aggressive campaign on tax amnesty last year brought a dramatic increase in real property tax (RPT) collection.

From P366.5-million in 2013, RPT collection rose to P619.8-million in 2014 or an increase of over P253.3-million.

This significant accomplishment happened in spite of the fact that the province was recovering from wrath of Super Typhoon Yolanda on December 2013.

“If not for you and you’re performance, the province will not be what it is today,” said Sullivan.

Governor Arthur Defensor Sr. also emphasized that without the support of the taxpayers, the government will fail in its duty.

“All of these will fail if we don’t have the support of our people (referring to the current development programs of the province). For the past years, we gained their trust and confidence since we’ve shown them that this government is capable of instilling an honest to goodness reform and change,” he stressed.

Of the total RPT collected in 2014, P107.6 million went to the coffers of the province, while P114-million for the municipalities and P31.7-million for the barangays.

The awarding of Iloilo’s top taxpayers and performing treasurers, assessors and municipal mayors began in 1993. And for the first time this year, the province bestowed awards and incentives to performing barangays.

These barangay movers were Barrido, Ajuy; Balabago, Alimodian; Palaypay, Anilao; Aranjuez, Balasan; Merced, Banate; Cabilauan, Barotac Nuevo; Poblacion, Batad; Tiring, Cabatuan; Nipa, Concepcion; Poblacion Ilaya, Calinog; Calicuang, Dingle; Pandan, Dueñas; Paloc Sool, Dumangas; Poblacion Zone II, Estancia; Rizal-Tuguisan, Guimbal; No. 2 Poblacion, Igbaras; R. Armada, Janiuay; Maribong, Lambunao; Poblacion, Leganes; Dapdapan, Lemery; Poblacion, Leon; Layog, Maasin; Mat-y, Miagao; Badiangan, Mina; Poblacion, New Lucena; Turog-Turog, Oton; Maliao, Pavia; Tuburan, Pototan; Bondulan, San Dionisio; Imbang Pequeno, San Enrique; Tiolas, San Joaquin; San Jose, San Miguel; Poblacion, San Rafael; Bolong Oeste, Sta. Barbara; Tentay, Sara; and Sambag, Zarraga.

The other awardees were the following:

Top Real Property Taxpayers for 2014

*Communities Iloilo

*Jentec Storage

*Coca-Cola Bottles Phils.

*Property Company of Friends

*Panay Consolidated Holdings Corp.

Top Business Taxpayers for 2014

*Coca-Cola Bottlers Phils.

*Pepsi Cola Products Phils.

*Heva Mgt. and Dev’t. Corp.

*San Miguel Foods Inc.

*New Panay Agri-Ventures Dev’t.

Excellence Awards in Tax Record Management

*Municipal Treasury Office of Mina (2007-2014)

*Municipal Treasury Office of Cabatuan (2011-2014)

*Municipal Treasury Office of Concepcion (2011-2014)

Top Performers in RPT Collection

Category A (P10-million above)

*Pavia (1st Place)

*Dumangas (2nd Place)

*Oton (3rd Place)

*Lambunao (4th Place)

*Pototan (5th Place)

Category B (Below P10-million)

*Tigbuan (1st Place)

*Balasan (2nd Place)

*Anilao (3rd Place)

*San Rafael (4th Place)

*Mina (5th Place) (Jezza A. Nepomoceno/Capitol News)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s