Iloilo hails top taxpayers, municipal treasurers for 2012

ILOILO – Although the provincial government was preoccupied with post-typhoon rehabilitation operations, it still managed to honour its highest taxpayers and top performing municipal treasury and assessment services for 2012 on Friday.

The awarding ceremony, initiated by Provincial Treasurer’s Office headed by Dr. Melba Sullivan, was held at Iloilo Grand Hotel, Iloilo City with Governor Arthur Defensor Sr. as guest speaker.

The top property taxpayers of the province were Communities Iloilo Inc. (P4.8-million), Pepsi Cola Products Phils. Inc. (P2.8-million), Coca Cola Bottlers Phils. Inc. (P2.5-million), Property Company of Friends (P2.2-million), Vitarich Corp. (P1.5-million), Jamandre Agro-Industrial Enterprise (P1.2-million), New Panay Agri-Ventures Dev’t. Inc. (P1.2-million) and Prycegases Inc. (P1-million).

The province also named its top business taxpayers and they were Coca Cola Bottlers Phils. Inc. (P7.4-million), Pepsi Cola Products Phils. Inc. (P2.5-million), Heva Mngt. And Dev’t Corp. (P2.1-million), SPC Power Corp. (P1.3-million), and New Panay Agri-Ventures Dev’t Inc. (P1-million).

An excellent award was also conferred to the Municipal Treasury of Mina town for having maintained seven consecutive years of outstanding performance in tax records management.

Those top performers in realty tax collection under Category A (above P10-million target) were the towns of Leganes, Cabatuan, Pavia, Sta. Barbara and Lambunao, while those under Category B (below P10-million target) were Concepcion, San Joaquin, Anilao, Mina and New Lucena.

The top performers in tax record management were Cabatuan (1st place), San Rafael (2nd place), San Dionisio (3rd place), San Miguel (4th place) and New Lucena (5th place).

The province also gave recognition to municipal treasuries that were prompt in remitting their provincial tax shares and these were Bingawan, Guimbal, Mina, Oton, Cabatuan, San Miguel, Calinog, Dueñas, San Rafael and Igbaras.

The top performers in the collection of annual fixed tax for delivery of trucks and vans, on the other hand, were Leganes, Cabatuan, Pavia, Oton and Pototan.

The top performers in the early submission of e-statement of receipts and expenditures were San Miguel, San Rafael, Cabatuan, Mina, San Joaquin, Barotac Nuevo, Dingle, Calinog, Igbaras, and Sta. Barbara.

During his speech, the governor congratulates the awardees and underscored the importance of taxes for the government to accomplish significant change in the delivery of its basic services.

“I know that you understand how government works. Taxes are its lifeblood and without an efficient tax collection system in place, the government’s performance is truly affected,” Defensor stressed.

He also pointed out that tax collection efficiency was the principal factor in the province’s effort to succeed in elevating the quality of life of its people. (Jezza A. Nepomoceno/ Capitol News)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s