Moises Padilla prevails in Negros 1st U13 football tilt

BACOLOD CITY, March 12 (PNA) — Moises Padilla Elementary School (MPES) dominated the Negros 1st Under-13 Football Tournament in a close overtime match against St. Scholastica’s Academy (SSA) over the weekend.

MPES won the match with three goals against SSA’s two. The football tourney was held at Panaad Park and Sports Stadium in Barangay Mansilingan, Bacolod City.

Both of the teams ended in one-all draw and play in a 20-minute extension with MPES found steadier in crucial match. They played each half in ten minutes.

SSA was heading for a go-ahead goal with Fritz Grijaldo finding his mark in the 10th minute. But before going to the second half, MPES’s Jan Ray Mendoza retaliated in the 30th minute to tie the score at one-all.

In the second half, MPES’s Jim Mendoza sparked an unguarded goal after defying his guards in the 54th minute, but Grijaldo counter in the 56th minute for another deadlock.

MPES’s Jim Mendoza sealed their victory by hitting a goal on the 62nd minute, a few minutes before the match ended.

Meanwhile, 2nd runner-up University of St. La Salle-Integrated School (USLS-IS) shunned Mabini Elementary School, 3-1.

USLS-IS Sean Andrew Keane delivered the team’s first goal at the 7thminute, followed by Chyle Miraflores in the 19th and Rafael Luis Gonzaga in the 41st minute.

Neil John Panes of Mabini Elementary School was the lone scorer who found his mark in the 26th minute.

Football players in the tournament were also given individual awards. Joshua McKinstry of SSA was best goalkeeper; his teammate Chrys Pahilanga as best midfielder; John Paul Gavito of Moises Padilla as best defender, and teammates Jim Mendoza as best striker; and Jan Rey Mendoza as most valuable player.

Negros First Under-13 Football Tournament, which started last January 20, was the brainchild of Dynamic Football Club owned by Ricky Yanson.

The tournament aimed at giving exposure to school-based teams to develop their skills and talents for future competitive football competitions.

Twelve teams responded to the initial staging run by the tournament committee chaired by Andrew Infante and Dennis Estaniel, Ronald Treyes, Roberto Garde and Augustine Rey Rivas as members. (PNA)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s